March 11, 2010
Nothing Wrong With an Old Marketing Model-That Actually Works
Image by Maqroll via FlickrFrom SEO.com:
"So how do you convert visitors into customers? Make use of the AIDAS formula. There is nothing revolutionary about this age-old idea (it was conceived by psychologist E.K. Strong way back in 1925). There’s a reason it’s still around – because it works."
March 3, 2010
SEO: Google AdWords Quality Score-Critical or Hype?

Here is something that I've always been curious about-AdWords Quality Scores. For anyone else whose ever wondered here's a great explanation from Search Engine Land on how your AdWords Quality Score can affect your PPC campaigns and how they are calculated. Its a much simpler calculation than one might expect.
Search Engine Land on the AdWords Quality Score:
"...just how important is Quality Score, and how significantly should it factor into the way PPC campaigns are managed?
It turns out Quality Score actually is a big deal, one that you ignore at your own risk and expense.
The reason boils down to its inclusion in two formulas that Google uses to determine where (and if) your ads appear and how much you pay for clicks.
So if your keyword earns a Quality Score of 20 and your nearest competitor earns only a Quality Score of 10 for that same keyword, your $2 Max CPC will earn you a higher Ad Rank (and display position) than your competitor’s $3 MaxCPC. Your Ad Rank = 40 (20 x 2) while their Ad Rank = 30 (10 x 3)..."
And in case you're wondering-the quality score is driven by the ad's click through rate (CTR)-the better your CTR then the better your quality score and vice versa. The significance of this is that if your PPC ads are designed so that there's so much info on them that the users don't need to click them then, yes, your PPC budget will be minimized but your Quality Score will suffer and your ads will be given less prominence on search or content ad placements.
Related articles by Zemanta
- What Every Google AdWords Advertiser Should Know About Quality Score - The Ultimate QS Improvement Guide (redflymarketing.com)
- Seven Ways to Make Pay-Per-Click Pay (online.wsj.com)
February 28, 2010
Revisiting Always On
Image by david.orban via FlickrHere are the concepts:
- Relevance and not just reach will rule the day in the marketing of tomorrow
- Although its great for brands to understand their audience's demographic segments, it is far better for brands to apply psychographic segmenting that speaks to user intent to their campaigns
Now for the examples. I was watching the NAACP Image Awards the other night and saw two ads that really caught my eye.
The first belonged to American Family Insurance and was a TV commercial that spoke to both a demographic segment (the 40 something age group) and that group's psychographic segment (the values of that age group). The result was an ad that stood out to me and I'm willing to bet that it probably has a very high recall rate since it comes across as so genuine (relevant ads always seem genuine).
The second ad was an auto manufacturer's ad who, forgive me I don't recall which one but the ad also came on during one of the breaks during the NAACP Image Awards, just before the commercial ended spoke directly to consumers/buyers in Atlanta by saying something like, " we are offering our customers in Atlanta...". They must have done this for each major market across the country. And again although geographic targeting is common online (many online marketing professionals use it because of the increased relevance derived from speaking to someone about an offer in their near vicinity), it is difficult for me to recall other TV campaigns from national or international brands that use the tactic.
On a side note, I'd be interested in hearing about the experiences of marketers who used the methodologies discussed in Always On to combine below the line marketing efforts with online marketing efforts...
Related articles by Zemanta
- Behavioral Targeting Here to Stay (beninbrown.com)
- Goodbye demographic and contextual targeting (vator.tv)
- The Future Of Your Future Is Psychographic. Read All About It. (agentgenius.com)
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)
Blog Archive
-
▼
2010
(39)
-
►
February
(14)
- Revisiting Always On
- The Merger of Digital with Traditional: Always On
- Behavioral Targeting Here to Stay
- Beyond the Crossroads: Integrated Marketing Commun...
- Case study: Online Consumer Behavior Strategy Gone...
- At a Crossroads: Consumers and Traditional Adverti...
- Integrated Marketing Communications or Complete Di...
- links 02/13/2010 (a.m.)
- Why Marketers Should Set Their Sights on Psychogra...
- Can Toyota Regain Their Swag?
- Is Display Still Relevant?
- Online Vs Offline Consumer Behavior: How Different...
- Online Consumer Behavior: Buying or Selling?
- Back to Reading Click by Bill Tancer
-
►
January
(23)
- Apple: Branding 101
- Interactive Marketing Analyst
- links 01/26/2010 (a.m.)
- Papa Johns Web Awareness
- Persona Case Study: Honda Website
- links 01/24/2010 (a.m.)
- links 01/23/2010 (a.m.)
- links 01/21/2010 (a.m.)
- Mashable Expounds on Using Social Media for Career...
- Findability: Red Headed Step Child of Web Design
- Full Sail University: Internet Marketing Industry ...
- Steve Krug Video Explains How to Make Usability Ea...
- Benin's Links: Website Usability on a Shoestring
- Daily Links
- Persona Creation-Step by Step
- Web Specialist Needed in Atlanta, Ga
- SEO Atlanta Seeks PPC Professional
- Web Usability and First Impressions
- Has Blogging Changed?
- Dont Make Me Think
- Ideas: Best Cities for Internet Marketing Professi...
- Internet Marketing and The Decline of Broadcast Me...
- More to Come in 2010
-
►
February
(14)
-
►
2009
(65)
-
►
December
(15)
- E-Commerce Site Reviews-eConsultancy
- Internet Marketing Professionals: Is Education a R...
- Atlanta Construction Company Seeks an Experienced ...
- 360i Seeks Account Manager-Atlanta, Ga Location
- Internet Marketing and SEO Jobs in Atlanta
- Why South Africa was Ready for Quirk Marketing
- Applying the AIDAS Model to Digital Marketing Camp...
- Still working on Quirk Marketing South Africa Piec...
- The Unlikely Pair: Online Branding and ROI
- More on Social Marketing...?
- Benin's Dec 20, 2009 Delicious Links
-
►
December
(15)
Labels
advertising
(6)
Africa
(5)
African American
(1)
AIDAS
(1)
Atlanta
(9)
Behavioral targeting
(1)
Blog
(2)
brand
(4)
bryan eisenberg
(3)
business
(8)
consumer behavior
(4)
Consumer behaviour
(4)
digital
(2)
digital marketing
(4)
e-commerce
(2)
e-marketing
(2)
Facebook
(5)
FriendFeed
(3)
Full Sail
(1)
Full Sail University
(1)
google
(5)
Internet marketing
(9)
iPad
(1)
IPhone
(2)
jobs
(7)
marketing
(13)
Marketing and Advertising
(5)
Marketing strategy
(1)
Mass media
(3)
Navigation
(1)
new media
(2)
pamoja media
(2)
Pay per click
(4)
performance
(2)
personas
(5)
Project management
(1)
Psychographics
(1)
ROI
(4)
search
(3)
SEM
(2)
SEO
(4)
Social Media
(15)
social media marketing
(2)
Social network service
(1)
South Africa
(3)
Steve Krug
(3)
strategy
(1)
survey
(1)
test
(2)
traditional marketing
(2)
Twitter
(11)
Usability
(6)
Usability testing
(2)
web 2.0
(2)
Web design
(3)
Web Usability
(3)
Website
(5)
![Reblog this post [with Zemanta]](http://img.zemanta.com/reblog_e.png?x-id=a79f654f-c629-4d35-8520-a08fda01796e)
![Reblog this post [with Zemanta]](http://img.zemanta.com/reblog_e.png?x-id=6b0c27ca-3029-406d-988a-a321385e4492)
![Reblog this post [with Zemanta]](http://img.zemanta.com/reblog_e.png?x-id=1e0bbc73-ffa2-40f5-a020-ab4eeb1b219b)

